Apostille Attestation- a document recognized at the world level

In french, apostille means certification. In layman's language we can say that ‘’An apostille attestation is a type of document or certification issued or registered by the legal authority of a country’’. Apostille is an internationally acceptable attestation by ninety-two countries and comes under the Hague convention.

Need of apostille attestation

A person needs to apostille a document when they have to go foreign country for some reasons like obtaining a job or employment visa or any working visa, applying for temporary residency or permanent residency, or for pursuing an education at the college or university level, i.e., student visa or for business expansion.

Documents to be apostille

The apostille documents are the personal documents of persons like birth/death/marriage certificate/affidavits/power of attorney and educational documents like secondary level certificates, matriculation, diploma and any degree across the world, etc. are apostilled.

Before a foreign country accepts a document issued by another country under the Hague convention, it must be authenticated. Authentication is a document verification by the legalization process; it is slow and costly.

Hague convention

Hague convention was signed in the town of Luxembourg by various countries. If one county apostille a document, then there will be no need for other countries to take action on it as the signatory, which will improve the accessibility between the nations. It was signed on 5 October 1961, but it became effective after 14th January 1965

Apostille attestation in India

India is a developing country and trying to become a developed country. It came under the Hague convention in 2005 and was recognized by almost all other Hague countries. For oscillation, the ministry of external affairs, a part of the central government, provides a sticker with the applicant’s details like name, document, name of the officer who issued the sticker, stamp, and date of issuance. In India, Apostille is valid for six months.

 Countries that are not members of the Apostille Convention

Some of the countries who are not members of convection are Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burma, Myanmar, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, China, Congo Republic, Congo Democratic, Ivory Coast, Cuba, Egypt, e, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Syria, Taiwan, Tanzania, Togo, Thailand, Turkmenistan, UAE (United Arab Emirates), Uganda, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Reason for apostille document rejection?

If a person's apostille got rejected, then its cause maybe because of the ‘’origin of the apostilled document, which was not able to verify.

Countries who are members of apostille convection

Some of the counties that come under the apostille convention are Albania, Andorra, Antigua, and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cape Verde, Chile, People's Republic of(Hong Kong & Macao Only), Colombia, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Tajikistan, Tonga, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Kazakhstan, Korea, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Swaziland.

Post a Comment


Ad Code

Responsive Advertisement